Skip to the content

Florida SR-22 Guidelines

A Hardship Driver’s License in the State of Florida typically allows the license holder to drive to and from work. The Florida court system will determine whether you need a certificate of financial responsibility, also called an SR-22. We recommend speaking with an attorney about the length of time you will need to carry an SR-22 or FR-44 insurance policy. The typical term is maintaining a policy for 2-3 years. It could possibly call for the policy to last up to 6 years. It is mandatory to maintain the high-risk insurance coverage during the time frame that the court mandates. If the policy lapses or cancels for any reason your license will be suspended again, and typically will have to start the process all over again. The State of Florida may also require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and complete a DUI program. Below we have included information from the State of Florida to assist you with this process.

Florida FR-44 Guidelines
FR-44 is another form of proof of financial responsibility, like SR-22 insurance. FR-44 insurance is specifically for DUI offenders in the State of Virginia and Florida. If you get charged with a DUI in either state, you’ll be required to carry an FR-44 insurance policy before you can get a hardship driver’s license to drive a vehicle. Florida requires an FR-44 certificate that has a higher liability requirement due to a DUI. If you need an FR-44 after a DUI, you will have to increase your car insurance liability coverage to a minimum of $100,000. Because of that, having an FR-44 will likely correlate to an increase in your insurance premium.

How to reinstate your license

List of DUI Programs

State of Florida Forms
APPLICATION FOR Hardship Administrative Hearing

FORMAL/INFORMAL REVIEW OF DRIVER LICENSE SUSPENSION/DISQUALIFICATION

Hardship License Request

IID Agreement

The State of Florida law mandates that every automobile insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages:

Any vehicle with a current Florida registration must:

  • Be insured with Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance at the time of vehicle registration.
  • Have a minimum of $10,000 in PIP and a minimum of $10,000 in PDL. Vehicles registered as taxis must carry Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) coverage of $125,000 per person, $250,000 per occurrence and $50,000 for (PDL) coverage.
  • Have continuous coverage even if the vehicle is not being driven or is inoperable. Surrender the license plate/tag BEFORE canceling your insurance.
  • Purchase the policy from an insurance carrier licensed to do business in Florida. (If you are new to the state, you may ask your agent to transfer your current insurance to a Florida policy.)
  • Maintain Florida insurance coverage continuously throughout the registration period regardless of the vehicle’s location (Military members stationed out-of-state/country may be exempt. Visit our military page for more information).

FR-44 in Florida
The liability requirements are a minimum of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident for bodily injury liability coverage, and another $50,000 for property damage liability coverage

We recommend you fill out our contact form. Once completed, an SR-22 insurance specialist will call or email you within 24 hours.

For additional information please visit the website here.

Affordable SR-22 Insurance For The Entire State of Florida, including:
Jacksonville, Miami, Tampa, Orlando, St. Petersburg, Hialeah, Port St. Lucie, Cape Coral, Tallahassee, Fort Lauderdale, Pembroke Pines, Hollywood, Miramar, Gainesville, Coral Springs, Lehigh Acres, Palm Bay, Clearwater, Brandon, Lakeland, West Palm Beach, Pompano Beach, Spring Hill, Miami Gardens, Davie, Boca Raton, Fort Myers, Plantation, Riverview, Sunrise, Deltona, Palm Coast, and Miami Beach.