A Hardship Driver’s License in the State of Georgia, also referred to as a Limited Driving Permit, allows you to drive a vehicle while your license is suspended or revoked for a drug or alcohol-related offense. While your driver’s license is suspended or revoked, you may have to get an Ignition Interlock Limited Driving Permit, if you have had more than one offense. When a license gets suspended, drivers may qualify for a limited driving permit. The limited permits are available during the suspension period. Permits will restrict where and why you can drive. Such as:
Driving to your place of employment to perform the normal duties of your occupation.
Receiving scheduled medical attention or getting prescribed drugs.
Attending classes at a college or school where you are enrolled as a student.
Attending support organizations for the treatment of alcohol or other drugs.
Attending a driver education program or alcohol/drug assessment and treatment program.
Attend court, report to community supervision or probation, or perform community service.
Transport unlicensed immediate family members to work, school, medical care, or get prescriptions.
Attend by an accountability court judge.
DDS may also specify:
The places you can travel to
Specific routes of travel
Times of travel
State vehicles or other restrictions deemed necessary
Limited driving permits are not valid for driving a commercial vehicle and may be revoked by DDS. Your permit may be revoked as a result of:
Violating any state law or local ordinance relating to the movement of vehicles
Violate any of the conditions or restrictions of your permit
Another imposed suspension
We recommend speaking with an attorney about the length of time you will need to carry an SR-22 insurance policy. The typical term is maintaining a policy for 3 years. It could possibly call for the policy to last up to 10 years. It is mandatory to maintain the high-risk insurance coverage during the time frame that the court mandates. If the policy lapses or cancels for any reason your license will be suspended again, and typically will have to start the process all over again. The State of Georgia may also require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and complete a DUI program. Below we have included information from the State of Georgia to assist you with this process.
The State of Georgia law mandates that every automobile insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages:
Georgia drivers must have liability insurance that meets the minimum limits (you can purchase more coverage if you choose) required by law to drive on our state’s public roads and highways. Liability insurance helps pay damages to others on your behalf if they are injured or their property is damaged in an accident or incident where you’re ruled at fault. There are other circumstances where liability coverage can help protect you (e.g., the person alleges you are at fault and makes a claim against you).
The minimum limits of liability insurance required under Georgia law are:
Bodily Injury Liability – $25,000 per person and $50,000 per incident
Property Damage Liability – $25,000 per incident
Physical Damage Insurance
Physical damage insurance helps pay for loss or damage to your own vehicle. There are two types of physical damage insurance:
Comprehensive – This type of physical insurance, also called “other than collision coverage,” covers theft, vandalism and fire-related losses
Collision – This covers losses associated with vehicle collisions
Georgia state law does not require you to purchase physical damage coverage. However, if you financed or leased your vehicle, the lender or leasing company usually requires it.
As a policyholder, you are allowed to file a claim under your own Physical Damage coverage even if someone else may have caused the accident.
Uninsured Motorist Insurance
Georgia requires all drivers to have Liability Insurance to drive. Unfortunately, there are some drivers who either do not follow the law or may unknowingly allow their coverage to lapse or cancel. These drivers are considered “uninsured.” If an uninsured driver causes an accident that damages your vehicle or injures you or your passengers, Uninsured Motorist insurance would protect you.
We recommend you fill out our contact form. Once completed, an SR-22 insurance specialist will call or email you within 24 hours.
Affordable SR-22 Insurance For The Entire State of Georgia, including:
Atlanta, Augusta, Columbus, Macon County, Savannah, Athens, Sandy Springs, South Fulton, Roswell, Johns Creek, Warner Robins, Albany, Alpharetta, Marietta, Brookhaven, Smyma, Valdosta, Stonecrest, Dunwoody, Gainesville, Newnan, Peachtree Corners, Evans, Buckhead, and Rome.