A Hardship Driver’s License in the State of Nevada also referred to as a Hardship Permit, is a limited use license issued by the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. The special restricted license allows you to drive a vehicle while your license is suspended or revoked for a drug or alcohol-related offense. While your driver’s license is suspended or revoked, you may be eligible to receive a hardship permit. The hardship permit will allow you to drive to and from work, doctor appointments, mandatory DUI courses, and court hearings. While maintaining a hardship permit, the State of Nevada may require you to carry a mandatory SR-22 insurance policy.
We recommend speaking with an attorney about the length of time you will need to carry an SR-22 insurance policy. The typical term is maintaining a policy for 3 years. It could possibly call for the policy to last up to 5 years or more. It is mandatory to maintain the high-risk insurance coverage during the time frame that the court mandates. If the policy lapses or cancels for any reason your license will be suspended, and you typically will have to start the process all over again.
The State of Nevada may also require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and complete a DUI program. Drivers with certain types of suspensions or revocations are required to keep and maintain SR-22 insurance. The SR-22 insurance must be carried for a minimum of 3 years following the date of the suspension or revocation and may be required for up to 5 years. New suspensions or revocations which also require SR-22 insurance will restart the requirement over from the date of the new action. Cancellation of the SR-22 insurance may result in the suspension of the driving privileges. If your insurance company submits a cancellation or proposed cancellation of your SR-22 insurance, you or your insurance company must submit a new SR-22 form prepared after the cancellation notice. Below we have included information from the State of Nevada to assist you with this process.
We recommend you fill out our contact form. Once completed, an SR-22 insurance specialist will call or email you within 24 hours.
Nevada Reinstating Your Driver’s License
License Suspension and Revocation Info
Restricted License Form
The State of Nevada law mandates that every automobile insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages:
Nevada requires that automobile liability insurance policies carry minimum coverage of $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident; $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons on any one accident; and $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.
For additional information please contact https://dmvnv.com/index.htm
Department of Motor Vehicles
555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711-0800
(775) 684-4850 Reno/Sparks/Carson City
(702) 486-8696 Las Vegas Area
(800) 344-0483 Rural/Toll-Free
(775) 684-4904 TDD (Hearing Impaired only)
(775) 684-4543 Fax (Nevada LIVE only)
Affordable SR-22 Insurance For The Entire State of Nevada, including:
Las Vegas, Henderson, Reno, North Las Vegas, Enterprise, Spring Valley, Sunrise Manor, Paradise, Sparks, Carson City, Whitney, Pahrump, Winchester, Summerlin South, Fernley, Sun Valley, Elko, Mesquite, Spanish Springs, Dayton, Spring Creek, Boulder City, Gardnerville Ranchos, and Cold Springs.