A Hardship Driver’s License in the State of New Hampshire also referred to as a Temporary Limited Privilege Driver License, is a limited use license issued by the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles. This special Temporary Limited Privilege Driver License allows you to drive a vehicle while your license is suspended or revoked for a drug or alcohol-related offense, DUI, breath test or refusal, failure to provide financial responsibility, or from carrying mandatory insurance.
While your driver’s license is suspended or revoked, you may be eligible to receive a Temporary Limited Privilege Driver License. The license will allow you to drive to and from work, doctor visits, and any court date appointments set by the State of New Hampshire. While maintaining a hardship license, the State of New Hampshire will require you to carry a mandatory SR-22 insurance policy.
We recommend speaking with an attorney about the length of time you will need to carry an SR-22 insurance policy. The typical term is maintaining a policy for 3 years. It could possibly call for the policy to last up to 5 years or more. It is mandatory to maintain the high-risk insurance coverage during the time frame that the court mandates. If the policy lapses or cancels for any reason your license will be suspended, and you typically will have to start the process all over again. The State of New Hampshire may also require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and complete a DUI program. Below we have included information from the State of New Hampshire to assist you with this process.
SR-22 INSURANCE Information from the State of New Hampshire
New Hampshire has no mandatory insurance law. The Division of Motor Vehicles strongly recommends and urges all owners of motor vehicles to carry standard liability and property damage insurance.
The Division of Motor Vehicles may require that persons have insurance (SR-22). If you fall under an insurance filing requirement, the Division of Motor Vehicles will notify you of this in writing.
A Driver Record Report will reflect whether or not an individual is required to file proof of insurance.
This information is displayed either as:
“No proof of financial responsibility is required.” or “Proof of financial responsibility is required.”
When Proof of Insurance (SR-22) is Required
Below is a list of some examples of why an SR-22 may be required. Please be advised that this list does not contain all the Reasons an SR-22 may be required:
- Individuals convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) are mandated to file proof of insurance for a minimum of three (3) years from the date of conviction for a first offense and longer for subsequent offenses.
- If someone is being decertified as a habitual offender before license/operating privileges can be restored, that person must file proof of insurance for a minimum of three (3) years from the date of his/her habitual offender decertification hearing.
- Individuals who appear at administrative hearings for certain offenses, such as Demerit Points, may be mandated to file insurance as a condition of retaining a license, or if the license is suspended, as a condition of restoration.
- Individuals found at fault for an uninsured accident are mandated to file proof of insurance for a minimum of three (3) years from the date of the accident. Please note the filing period will be extended following defaulting a payment agreement or if a judgment is obtained.
Certain Convictions that require filing proof of insurance (SR-22):
- DWI – (1st, 2nd, Subsequent, and Aggravated).
- Underage DWI – (1st, 2nd, Subsequent, Aggravated).
- Leaving Scene of Accident.
- Conduct After Accident.
- Subsequent (2nd) offense Reckless Operation.
Relief of Filing Proof of Insurance/SR-22
In order to learn if you can be relieved of filing proof of insurance, you should contact the Bureau of Financial Responsibility and request that your record be reviewed. Your record will then be reviewed and a determination will be made as to whether the filing period has been met or must be extended.
If, as the result of the review process, it is determined that any of the subsequent activities/conditions outlined in Saf-C 207.12 exist, the filing period shall be extended.
If eligible, you will receive a formal Notice of Relief of Filing from the Division of Motor Vehicles. Regarding notice to your insurance provider, as indicated in Saf-C 207.12, once you have been relieved of filing proof of insurance, you will be provided a formal Notice of Relief of Filing. Your insurance provider/company will also be forwarded notice of the relief of filing via the mail; however, once you have received your formal Notice of Relief of Filing, we encourage you to contact your insurance provider/agent directly.
If you are placed under such a filing requirement, your license/operating and/or registration privileges cannot be restored or retained until this requirement is met.
If you are required to file proof of insurance with the Division of Motor Vehicles, you must contact an insurance representative/carrier to assist you in this process. The insurance company chosen must be licensed to do business in New Hampshire. The only document accepted is the uniform SR-22 certificate. This is not a form supplied by the Division of Motor Vehicles. Rather, it is a standard form utilized throughout the insurance industry.
The DMV only recognizes the specific policy type listed on an SR-22 Certificate of Insurance. Those policy types are “Owner” and “Operator” SR-22. An “Owner SR-22” allows the person filing to own and register a vehicle as well as operate a motor vehicle. An “Operator SR-22” only allows the person filing to operate a motor vehicle. Please be advised that these terms may not be the same terms as an insurance company may use.
We recommend you fill out our contact form. Once completed, an SR-22 insurance specialist will call or email you within 24 hours.
New Hampshire Reinstating Your Driver’s License
Application for Hardship Registrations
Petition for Limited Driving Privilege
Application for Driver License
Release of Motor Vehicle Records
Requisition for Driver Education Forms
Request for Administrative Action
Accident Insurance Verification Form
Motor Carrier Accident Form
Release of Motor Vehicle Records
The State of New Hampshire Law does not have mandatory insurance requirements.
For additional information please contact https://www.dmv.nh.gov/
NH Department of Safety
Division of Motor Vehicles
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
Telephone: (603) 227-4000)
Affordable SR-22 Insurance For The Entire State of New Hampshire, including:
Manchester, Nashua, Concord, Derry, Dover Rochester, Salem, Merrimack, Londonderry, Hudson, Bedford, Keene, Portsmouth, Goffstown, Laconia, Hampton, Exeter, and Milford