A Hardship Driver’s License in the State of Oregon also referred to as a Hardship Permit, is a limited use license issued by the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles. The special restricted license allows you to drive a vehicle while your license is suspended or revoked for a drug or alcohol-related offense. While your driver license is suspended or revoked, you may be eligible to receive a hardship permit.
The hardship permit will allow you to drive:
- To and from work
- On the job
- To seek employment
- To take part in a gambling addiction, alcohol, or drug rehabilitation program.
- For necessary services
- Grocery shopping
- Driving yourself or your children to school
- Driving to medical appointments
- Caring for elderly family members
While maintaining a hardship permit, the State of Oregon may require you to carry a mandatory SR-22 insurance policy. We recommend speaking with an attorney about the length of time you will need to carry an SR-22 insurance policy. The typical term is maintaining a policy for 3 years. It could possibly call for the policy to last up to 5 years or more. It is mandatory to maintain the high-risk insurance coverage during the time frame that the court mandates. If the policy lapses or cancels for any reason your license will be suspended, and you typically will have to start the process all over again. The State of Oregon may also require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and complete a DUI program.
Below we have included information from the State of Oregon to assist you with this process. Drivers with certain types of suspensions or revocations are required to keep and maintain SR-22 insurance. The SR-22 insurance must be carried for a minimum of 3 years following the date of the suspension or revocation and may be required for up to 5 years. New suspensions or revocations which also require SR-22 insurance will restart the requirement over from the date of the new action. Cancellation of the SR-22 insurance may result in the suspension of the driving privileges. If your insurance company submits a cancellation or proposed cancellation of your SR-22 insurance, you or your insurance company must submit a new SR-22 form prepared after the cancellation notice.
We recommend you fill out our contact form. Once completed, an SR-22 insurance specialist will call or email you within 24 hours.
Oregon Reinstating Your Driver’s License
The State of Oregon law mandates that every automobile insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages:
Bodily injury and property damage liability:
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per crash for bodily injury to others
- $20,000 per crash for damage to others’ property.
Personal injury protection:
- $15,000 per person.
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per crash for bodily injury
You must give your insurance policy number every time you register a vehicle, or when you buy a light vehicle trip permit.
In Oregon, it is illegal to drive without liability coverage. See ORS 806.010.
For additional information please contact https://www.oregon.gov/odot/DMV/Pages/index.aspx
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314
Affordable SR-22 Insurance For The Entire State of Oregon, including:
Portland, Salem, Eugene, Hillsboro, Gresham, Bend, Beaverton, Medford, Springfield, Corvallis, Tigard, Albany, Aloha, Lake Oswego, Keizer, Grants Pass, Oregon City, Redmond, Newport, McMinnville, Tualatin, Forest Grove, Woodburn, West Linn, Bethany, Wilsonville, Ashland, Florence, and Seaside.