Skip to the content

Virginia SR-22 Guidelines

A Hardship Driver’s License in the State of Virginia also referred to as a work license, restricted license, or Cinderella license is a limited use license issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The restricted license allows you to drive a vehicle while your license is suspended or revoked for a drug or alcohol-related offense. While your driver’s license is suspended or revoked, you may be eligible to receive a Restricted Driver License. The restricted driver’s license will have limitations. With the restricted license, you are allowed to:

  • Travel to and from the primary job
  • Travel to and from a secondary job
  • Driving to and from alcohol education & safety programs (aka Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program – VASAP)
  • Travel during work hours only as required by the employer
  • Travel to and from school
  • Medically necessary travel for yourself, elderly parent, or other person living in a home with a serious medical problem
  • Ignition Interlock on any motor vehicle that you operate, if required
  • Travel to and from the facility that installed or monitors the ignition interlock in the vehicle(s), if ignition interlock is ordered.
  • Necessary travel to transport a minor child(ren), who is/are under your care, to and from his/her/their school, daycare, and/or medical providers
  • Necessary travel for Court Ordered visitation with the child(ren)
  • Travel to and from appointments with a probation officer
  • Travel to and from programs required by a court or as a condition of probation
  • Travel to and from a place of religious worship
  • Travel to and from appointments approved by the Division of Child Support Enforcement of the Department of Social Services as a requirement of participation in an administrative or court-ordered intensive case monitoring program for child support
  • Travel to and from jail to serve a jail sentence that is to be served on weekends or on nonconsecutive days. § 18.2-271.1(D).

While maintaining a restricted driver’s license, the State of Virginia will require you to carry an SR-22/SR-26 or an FR-44/FR-46 insurance policy. We recommend speaking with an attorney about the length of time you will need to carry an SR-22/SR-26 or an FR-44/FR-46 insurance policy. The typical term is maintaining a policy for 3 years. It could possibly call for the policy to last up to 6 years or more. It is mandatory to maintain the high-risk insurance coverage during the time frame that the court mandates. If the policy lapses or cancels for any reason your license will be suspended again, and typically will have to start the process all over again. The State of Virginia may also require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and complete a DUI program. Below we have included information from the State of Virginia to assist you with this process.

We recommend you fill out our contact form. Once completed, an SR-22 insurance specialist will call or email you within 24 hours.

Virginia Reinstating Your Driver’s License
Application for Restricted Driver’s License Form
Application for Extranet Transaction Access

SR-22/SR26 Financial Responsibility Certification
SR-22 certification is required for the following convictions:

  • Unsatisfied judgments
  • Uninsured motor vehicle suspension
  • Failure to provide proof of insurance associated with insurance monitoring
  • Falsifying insurance certification

Driver license suspension because of a conviction for:

  • Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle.
  • Perjury, making a false affidavit to DMV regarding the registration of motor vehicles or making a false statement on any driver’s license application.
  • Any crime punishable as a felony under the motor vehicle law or any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used.
  • Failure of a driver of a motor vehicle, involved in an accident resulting in death or injury to another person, to stop and disclose his identity at the scene of the accident.
  • Operating or permitting the operation, for a second time, of a passenger automobile for transportation of passengers for rent or for hire, without a license.

SR-22 liability insurance coverage limits are set forth in the Code of Virginia § 46.2-472.

FR-44/FR-46 Financial Responsibility Certification
FR-44 certification is required for the following convictions:

  • Maiming while under the influence
  • Driving while under the influence of intoxicants or drugs
  • Driving while the driver’s license has been forfeited for a conviction or finding of not innocent in the case of a juvenile
  • Violation of the provisions of any federal law or law of any other state or any valid local ordinance similar to the above

FR-44 liability insurance coverage limits are double the SR-22 insurance coverage limits set forth in the Code of Virginia § 46.2-472.

The FR-44 double minimum coverage requirements apply to customers convicted of the above violations on or after January 1, 2008, as well as customers previously convicted of these violations who are required to file an SR-22 certification after December 31, 2008. If you reside outside Virginia, you may submit a letter on your insurance provider’s letterhead stating the double minimum coverage amounts.

DMV placed a driver’s license STOP on the record of anyone who did not comply with this requirement by filing an FR-44 certification prior to January 1st, 2009. The STOP prevents customers from performing any driver transactions (such as renewing a driver’s license), but does not affect the customer’s ability to register vehicles.

The State of Virginia law mandates that every automobile insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages. It is illegal to drive a car in Virginia without at least the minimum amount of liability coverage required by law:

  • Bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property damage: $20,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

For additional information please contact https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/general/#utilities/contact.asp

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269
(804) 497-7100

Affordable SR-22 Insurance For The Entire State of Virginia, including:
Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, Norfolk, Arlington, Richmond, Newport News, Alexandria, Hampton, Roanoke, Suffolk, Portsmouth, Lynchburg, Centreville, Dale City, Reston, Leesburg, Harrisonburg, Ashburn, Tuckahoe, McLean, Charlottesville, Lake Ridge, Blacksburg, Annadale, and Burke