Missouri law requires that all motor vehicle drivers and owners maintain automobile liability insurance coverage. Each year Missouri citizens are involved in automobile accidents with drivers who have not maintained the state mandatory required automobile liability insurance limits. This results in unpaid damage claims and higher insurance premium rates for all Missouri residents.
Missouri is an “at-fault” state. The terms “no-fault” and “at-fault” refer to the type of insurance a state requires for car accidents. These terms can also refer to the right of accident victims to file personal injury claims or lawsuits against other drivers to recover compensation for their injuries. Liability coverage should pay your medical expenses and related damages if you are injured in an accident that was caused by another driver. It is important to remember that liability coverage only pays if the other driver was negligent, or at-fault.
Missouri residents that own an automobile are required by the state to show proof of insurance when registering a vehicle, renewing their license plates, or reinstating their license. Liability insurance covers your legal liability when injuries to people or property damage happen because of your driving. The State of Missouri requires you to carry the minimum level of liability coverage. The minimum amounts required by state law is:
$25,000 per person for bodily injury
$50,000 per accident for bodily injury
$25,000 per accident for property
The law also requires you to have uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 for bodily injury per person and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
Non-residents must maintain insurance that conforms to the requirements of the laws of their state.
Missouri requires you to always keep some proof of insurance in your vehicle. If a law enforcement officer asks for proof of insurance and you cannot show it, the officer may issue you a ticket.
The Missouri Department of Revenue will be notified that you did not have insurance with you, on your vehicle, or for the vehicle you were driving. Not carrying the proper insurance could lead to the suspension of your driving privileges.
It is illegal to drive a motor vehicle in Missouri without automobile liability insurance. The vehicle driver must show proof of insurance to any law enforcement official, upon request, or a traffic ticket may be issued to the driver. Three things may occur for failing to show proof of insurance:
Missouri law requires that all motor vehicle owners maintain some type of motor vehicle liability insurance coverage. Missouri residents are required to show proof of insurance when registering a motor vehicle or renewing their license plates. All motor vehicle owners must also keep proof of insurance in their vehicle(s). If a law enforcement officer asks for proof of insurance and the driver cannot show it, the officer may issue both the driver and the owner a ticket.
Make Sure and Ask About Us About Your Possible Insurance Discounts
Bundle – Auto/home insurance on the same policy or with the same company
Multicar – Two or more cars on a policy
Driver Education Courses
Good student for drivers under age 25
Mature driver (between 50 and 65 years of age)
Low Mileage Driver
Clean driving record
Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course
NOTE: If an accident is involved, or your license is suspended, an SR-22 filing is required for proof of liability insurance. An identification card is not acceptable.
Affordable Auto Insurance For The Entire State of Missouri, including:
Kansas City, St. Louis, Springfield, Columbia, Independence, Lee’s Summit, O’Fallon, St. Joseph, St. Charles, St. Peters, Blue Springs, Joplin, Florissant, Chesterfield, Wentzville, Jefferson City, Cape Girardeau, Oakville, Lake Ozark, Lebanon, Liberty, Carthage, Rolla, Osage Beach, and Village of Four Seasons.
Hardship Drivers License offers free, comparative quotes on Missouri Auto Insurance from multiple insurance carriers so you can get the best possible rate.
Want to see how much we can save you? Just request a quote to find out.