A Hardship Driver’s License in the State of Connecticut also referred to as a Temporary Restricted License (TRL), is a limited use license issued by the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles. The temporary restricted license allows you to drive a vehicle while your license is suspended or revoked for a drug or alcohol-related offense. While your driver’s license is suspended or revoked, you may be eligible to receive a hardship license. This will allow you to drive only to and from work, doctors’ appointments, court dates, traffic offender programs, or other state mandatory meetings. While maintaining a restricted driver’s license, the State of Connecticut may require you to carry a mandatory SR-22 insurance policy.
We recommend speaking with an attorney about the length of time you will need to carry an SR-22 insurance policy. The typical term is maintaining a policy for 3 years. It could possibly call for the policy to last up to 5 years or more. It is mandatory to maintain the high-risk insurance coverage during the time frame that the court mandates. If the policy lapses or cancels for any reason your license will be suspended, and you typically will have to start the process all over again. The State of Connecticut may also require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and complete a DUI program.
Below we have included information from the State of Connecticut to assist you with this process. Drivers with certain types of suspensions or revocations are required to keep and maintain SR-22 insurance. The SR-22 insurance must be carried for a minimum of 3 years following the date of the suspension or revocation and may be required for up to 5 years. New suspensions or revocations which also require SR-22 insurance will restart the requirement over from the date of the new action. Cancellation of the SR-22 insurance may result in the suspension of the driving privileges. If your insurance company submits a cancellation or proposed cancellation of your SR-22 insurance, you or your insurance company must submit a new SR-22 form prepared after the cancellation notice.
We recommend you fill out our contact form. Once completed, an SR-22 insurance specialist will call or email you within 24 hours.
The State of Connecticut law mandates that every automobile insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages:
To understand your purchase of auto insurance, you should be familiar with a few terms.
Liability insurance covers bodily injury to other people and damage to the property of others caused by your negligence or the negligence of someone driving your car with your permission. A minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability and $25,000 per accident for property damage liability, is required by law, but drivers are strongly urged to consider higher limits.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage covers bodily injury to you, your relatives who live with you and your passengers if they are injured in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist, a motorist whose bodily injury liability limits are less than your uninsured/underinsured motorist limits or a hit-and-run driver. The standard coverage is an amount equal to your bodily injury liability coverage, but you may purchase additional coverage up to an amount double your bodily injury liability. The minimum amount required by law is $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident.
Underinsured motorist conversion coverage also provides for reimbursement in case you are injured by an underinsured driver. If your damages exceed the at-fault driver’s insurance or other payments, your underinsured motorist conversion coverage will be available for damages not paid. This optional coverage is not reduced by payments from any other source, including the at-fault driver’s liability insurance.
For example, if you have uninsured/underinsured coverage of $300,000 and you sustain $400,000 in personal injuries caused by an at-fault driver with $200,000 in bodily injury liability, without underinsured conversion coverage you would only be able to collect the $200,000 from the other driver’s insurance plus $100,000 from your own underinsured coverage, which equals your $300,000 limit minus the $200,000 collected from the other driver’s insurance. With conversion coverage, you could collect the full $200,000 from your own underinsured coverage.
Basic reparations or medical payments coverage. This optional coverage replaces formerly mandatory coverage and provides for medical payments, and in some cases, lost wages and funeral expenses if you or a relative living with you are injured or killed in an accident.
Collision coverage covers damage to your car caused by a collision with another vehicle or object or by your car turning over. There is almost always a deductible which you must pay if you repair or replace the car.
Comprehensive coverage covers damage to your car other than that caused by collision, including theft, vandalism, impact with animals or birds, explosion, flood, falling objects, windstorm, and glass breakage. As with collision coverage, there is usually a deductible.
Full glass coverage covers your car’s glass for breakage of safety glass with no deductible for an extra premium. Towing coverage covers the expense of towing your car to a shop. Rental reimbursement pays toward the expense of renting a vehicle if you have a loss covered by either collision or comprehensive coverage and your car is disabled.
Hardship Drivers License offers affordable SR-22 Insurance For The Entire State of Connecticut, including:
Bridgeport, Stamford, New Haven, Hartford, Waterbury, Norwalk, Danbury, New Britain, West Hartford, Greenwich, Fairfield, Hamden, Meriden, Bristol, Manchester, West Haven, Stratford, Milford, East Hartford, and Middletown.