A Hardship Driver’s License in the State of Louisiana is a limited use license issued by the Louisiana Department of Motor Vehicles. The restricted license is issued administratively in accordance with statutes or by order of the court to an applicant whose driving privileges are under suspension. This license allows the applicant to drive during the period of suspension to earn a livelihood or to maintain the necessities of life. In many instances, the installation of an ignition interlock device will be required.
While your driver’s license is suspended or revoked, you may be eligible to receive a hardship driver’s license. While maintaining a hardship license, the State of Louisiana will require you to carry a mandatory SR-22 insurance policy. An SR-22 insurance policy is a certificate of liability insurance from an insurance company authorized to do business in Louisiana. If a vehicle is not owned by the applicant, a non-ownership policy may be issued. An SR-22 binder with the binder clause and number can be accepted in lieu of the original SR-22 filing for 90 days only. An SR-22 filing may be required on a Refusal of a chemical test or Driving While Intoxicated conviction before issuance of a hardship license.
We recommend speaking with an attorney about the length of time you will need to carry an SR-22 insurance policy. The typical term is maintaining a policy for 3 years. It could possibly call for the policy to last up to 5 years or more. It is mandatory to maintain the high-risk insurance coverage during the time frame that the court mandates. If the policy lapses or cancels for any reason your license will be suspended, and you typically will have to start the process all over again.
The State of Louisiana may also require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and complete a DUI program. An ignition interlock device is an in-car breath alcohol screening device that is connected to the vehicle’s engine ignition system and prevents the vehicle from starting if the device detects a blood alcohol level at or above a preset limit. You will be required to have a lease and installation agreement which is documented proof that the ignition interlock device has been properly leased and installed in a vehicle.
Below we have included information from the State of Louisiana to assist you with this process.
We recommend you fill out our contact form. Once completed, a SR-22 insurance specialist will call or email you within 24 hours.
Reinstatement services are not available at OMV field offices.
Reinstatements will ONLY be provided via phone, mail, or a Public Tag Agency utilizing one of the following options:
OMV Call Center: 225-925-6146 – Option No. 3
OMV Mail Center: P.O. Box 64886 Baton Rouge, La. 70896
Public Tag Agency: Contact your local agency to ensure they provide the reinstatement service you need.
By Phone: debit or credit card accepted
By Mail: money order, certified funds, or cashier’s check
Public Tag Agencies: Contact your local agency
The State of Louisiana law mandates that every automobile insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages. The following coverage is required by the state of Louisiana to legally operate a motor vehicle:
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: The minimum legal requirement is $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident
Property Damage Liability Coverage: The minimum legal requirement is $25,000
Medical Payments: The minimum legal requirement is $1,000*
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: The minimum legal requirement is $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident*
Office of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 64886
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
Office of Motor Vehicles
7979 Independence Blvd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Affordable SR-22 Insurance For The Entire State of Louisiana, including:
New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Shreveport, Metairie, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Bossier City, Kenner, Monroe, Alexandria, Houma, Prairieville, Marrero, Central, and Laplace