A Hardship Driver’s License in the State of North Dakota also referred to as a Temporary Restricted License (TRL), is a hardship driver license issued by the North Dakota Department of Motor Vehicles. The Temporary Restricted License allows you to drive a vehicle while your license is suspended or revoked for a drug or alcohol-related offense, DUI, breath test or refusal, failure to provide financial responsibility, or from carrying mandatory insurance.
While your driver’s license is suspended or revoked, you may be eligible to receive a limited license. The limited license will allow you to drive to and from work, doctor visits, and any court date appointments set by the State of North Dakota. While maintaining a hardship license, the State of North Dakota may require you to carry a mandatory SR-22 insurance policy.
We recommend speaking with an attorney about the length of time you will need to carry an SR-22 insurance policy. The typical term is maintaining a policy for 3 years. It could possibly call for the policy to last up to 5 years or more. It is mandatory to maintain the high-risk insurance coverage during the time frame that the court mandates. If the policy lapses or cancels for any reason your license will be suspended, and you typically will have to start the process all over again. The State of North Dakota may also require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and complete a DUI program. Below we have included information from the State of North Dakota to assist you with this process.
SR-22 INSURANCE Information from the State of North Dakota
24/7 Sobriety Program Requirements for a TRL
If an offender has been charged with or convicted of a second or subsequent violation of section 39-08-01 or equivalent ordinance and is NOT subject to an unrelated suspension or revocation, a TRL shall be issued upon the restriction that the offender participates in the 24/7 Sobriety Program. If the offender violates the restrictions of the 24/7 Sobriety Program, the TRL will be canceled and not reissued.
SR-22 Insurance Requirements (High-risk insurance) or (Proof of Financial Responsibility for the future). An SR-22 can be purchased through your motor vehicle insurance provider. An SR-22 filing is needed for the following reasons:
- A conviction for driving under the influence
- A conviction for actual physical control
- A conviction for driving under revocation
- A conviction for driving under suspension when the length of the suspension period is for 91 or more days.
- For any crash where no insurance was in effect at the time of the crash
- For a civil judgment arising from the operation of a motor vehicle crash
- A conviction for manslaughter in which a motor vehicle is used.
- A conviction for negligent homicide in which a motor vehicle is used.
- A conviction for a felony in which a motor vehicle is used.
Proof of financial responsibility must be kept on file with the director for 1-year from:
- The date driving privileges are reinstated
- The date a TRL is issued
- The date of the motor vehicle crash in which there was no insurance in effect at the time of the crash.
Additional information regarding alcohol violations, the suspension and reinstatement of driving privileges, and the assessment and reduction of points on your driving record.
When a driver accumulates 12 or more points on their driving record, their driving privileges are suspended for 7-days for every point over eleven. Drivers are eligible to take a defensive driver training course to reduce their total points by three, once every twelve months. A driver-training course can also be taken ‘in lieu of points’ being entered on your driving record for some violations with 5 or fewer points. Approved driver training courses, also known as Defensive Driving Courses, can be found on the driver information and education page.
We recommend you fill out our contact form. Once completed, an SR-22 insurance specialist will call or email you within 24 hours.
North Dakota Reinstating Your Driver’s License
Temporary Restricted Driver License Request
TEMPORARY RESTRICTED LICENSE/TWENTY-FOUR SEVEN SOBRIETY PROGRAM
REQUEST FOR CRASH REPORT INFORMATION
Drivers License Administrative Hearing Request
Driver’s License Reinstatement Fee Payment System
LIFETIME CDL DISQUALIFICATION REINSTATEMENT
The State of North Dakota law mandates that every automobile insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages. North Dakota state law requires that all vehicles carry the following minimum insurance coverages:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Underinsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Basic personal injury protection: $150 per week with a $30,000 maximum
For additional information please contact https://www.dot.nd.gov/
NDDOT Mailing Address:
608 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0700
Affordable SR-22 Insurance For The Entire State of North Dakota, including:
Fargo, Bismarck, Grand Forks, Minot, West Fargo, Williston, Dickinson, Mandan, Jamestown, and Watford City