A Hardship Driver’s License in the State of Utah is a limited use license issued by the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles. The hardship driver’s license allows you to drive a vehicle while your license is suspended or revoked for a drug or alcohol-related offense. While your driver’s license is suspended or revoked, you may be eligible to receive a hardship license. This will allow you to drive only to and from work, doctors’ appointments, court dates, traffic offender programs, or other state mandatory meetings. While maintaining a hardship driver’s license, the State of Utah may require you to carry a mandatory SR-22 insurance policy.
We recommend speaking with an attorney about the length of time you will need to carry an SR-22 insurance policy. The typical term is maintaining a policy for 3 years. It could possibly call for the policy to last up to 5 years or more. It is mandatory to maintain the high-risk insurance coverage during the time frame that the court mandates. If the policy lapses or cancels for any reason your license will be suspended, and you typically will have to start the process all over again. The State of Utah may also require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and complete a DUI program.
Drivers with certain types of suspensions or revocations are required to keep and maintain SR-22 insurance. The SR-22 insurance must be carried for a minimum of 3 years following the date of the suspension or revocation and may be required for up to 5 years. New suspensions or revocations which also require SR-22 insurance will restart the requirement from the date of the new action. Cancellation of the SR-22 insurance may result in the suspension of the driving privileges. If your insurance company submits a cancellation or proposed cancellation of your SR-22 insurance, you or your insurance company must submit a new SR-22 form prepared after the cancellation notice. Below we have included information from the State of Utah to assist you with this process.
We recommend you fill out our contact form. Once completed, an SR-22 insurance specialist will call or email you within 24 hours.
Utah Reinstating Your Driver’s License
DUI Hearing Request Form
Ignition Interlock Restriction Information (IID)
Alcohol Restricted Driver Information (ARD)
Alcohol/Drug Related Limited License
The State of Utah law mandates that every automobile insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages. All Utah drivers must carry proof of auto insurance and present it to any law enforcement officer upon request. The following minimum car insurance coverages are required in Utah:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $15,000 per accident
- Personal injury protection: $3,000 per accident*
- Uninsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident**
- Underinsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident**
*The “loss of income” portion of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage may be rejected in writing.
**Uninsured and underinsured coverages may be rejected in writing.
For additional information please contact https://dmv.utah.gov/
Utah Driver’s License Division
Calvin Rampton Complex
4501 South 2700 West, 1st Floor
Salt Lake City, Utah 84129
Driver License Division
PO Box 144501
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4501
Phone: 801.965.4437 or toll-free at 888.353.4224
Affordable SR-22 Insurance For The Entire State of Utah, including:
Salt Lake City, West Valley City, West Jordan, Provo, Orem, Sandy, St. George, Ogden, South Jordan, Layton, Lehi, Herriman, Millcreek, Taylorsville, Logan, Draper, Murray, Riverton, Eagle Mountain, Bountiful, Spanish Fork, Roy, Cedar City, and Park City